Festspielhaus Hellerau

Back to Calendar

Meryem Jazouli (Morocco), Performing Arts, Residency 23 June – 7 July 2017

Meryem Jazouli (Morocco), Performing Arts, Residency 23 June – 7 July 2017

with Malika Zarra (Sound, Singer), Younes Anzane (Dramaturge)

Title of the new production:
Folkah!


The Moroccan dancer and choreographer Meryem Jazouli, based in Casablanca was invited by HELLERAU – European Center for the Arts Dresden for a residency in Germany. During her residency togehter with Malika Zarra and Younes Anzane she develops her new piece “Folkah!” Melchior Delaunay will join the team as a light designer, and Mehryl Levisse will join the team as a costume designer.

“Folkah!” initiates a body language invented from a danced heritage. Starting from a Sahara dance (the Guedra) to (re)invent a new story for history. Charged with heavy symbolism, the Guedra traditionally mirrors epic tales or courteous poems; it portrays an entire people through precise fingers and eyes movements. Here, the performers weave other links, other extensions and overflows aiming at a deconstruction of this dance. They unveil their bodies and presences somewhere in between dream and unconscious, memory and transmission. The project dawned from the desire to unite two feminine figures around a shared folklore, both danced and sung.

PRODUCTION
„Folkah!“ is an Espace Darja (Casablanca, Morocco) producion in coproduction with Moussem – Brussels Nomadic Arts Center (Brusselns Belgium) and Afrikayna – Africa Art Lines Funds for mobility. The production is supported through residencies by HELLERAU – European Center for the Arts (Dresden, Germany) and Ecole des Sables (Toubab Dialo, Senegal)

PREMIERE
TBA

Meryem Jazouli is a Moroccan dancer and choreograpger who has been living and working in Casablanca since 1997. After pursuing dance studies in Paris and sharing the stage experience of several companies, she came back to Morocco in order to continue her creation work. Own pieces include: „Temps de chien“, „La robe de Tantale“, „Kelma...un cri à la mère" and „Contessa“

Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden

Festspielhaus Hellerau

zurück

Meryem Jazouli (Marokko), Performing Arts, Residenz 23. Juni – 7. Juli 2017

Meryem Jazouli (Marokko), Performing Arts, Residenz 23. Juni – 7. Juli 2017

mit Malika Zarra (Sound, Sängerin), Younes Anzane (Dramaturg)

Titel der neuen Produktion:
Folkah!


Die marokkanische Tänzerin und Choreografin Meryem Jazouli wurde von HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden für eine Residenz nach Deutschland eingeladen. Während ihrer Residenz entwickelt sie gemeinsam mit Malika Zarra und Younes Anzane ihr neues Stück "Folkah!" Melchior Delaunay wird das Team als Lichtdesigner und Mehryl Levisse Kostümbildnerin unterstützen.

"Folkah!" kreiert eine Bewegungssprache, die auf ein getanztes Erbe zurückgreift. Ausgehend von einem Sahara-Tanz (Guedra) soll eine Geschichte die Geschichte (neu) erfinden. Der mit Symbolik aufgeladene Guedra-Tanz spiegelt traditionsgemäß epische Fabeln oder höfische Gedichte. Dabei porträtiert der „Guedra“ ein ganzes Volk durch präzise Finger- und Augenbewegungen. An dieser Stelle webt die Performance von "Folkah!" Verknüpfungen und Erweiterungen ein, die auf eine Dekonstruktion des traditionellen Tanzes abzielen. Die Darstellerinnen enthüllen ihre Körper und Anwesenheit irgendwo zwischen Traum und Unbewusstem, Gedächtnis und Überlagerungen. Das Projekt hat zum Ziel zwei Performerinnen, tanzend und singend, in einer gemeinsamen Folklore zu vereinen.

PRODUKTION
„Folkah!“ ist eine Produktion von Espace Darja (Casablanca, Marokkoo) in Koproduktion mit Moussem – Brussels Nomadic Arts Center (Brüssel, Belgien) und Afrikayna – Africa Art Lines Funds for mobility. Die Produktion wird durch Residenzen unterstützt von HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste (Dresden, Deutschland) und Ecole des Sables (Toubab Dialo, Senegal)

PREMIERE
TBA

Meryem Jazouli ist eine marokkanische Tänzerin und Choreografin. Sie lebt und arbeitet seit 1997 in Casablanca. Nach dem Tanzstudium in Paris und Bühnenerfahrung in mehreren Companies kehrte sie nach Marokko zurück, wo sie als freischaffende Choreografin eigene Stücke erarbeitet. Dazu zählen u.a.: „Temps de chien“, „La robe de Tantale“, „Kelma...un cri à la mère“ und „Contessa“

Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden