Festspielhaus Hellerau

Back to Calendar

RECONSTRUCTING THE FUTURE

Past Events

  • 20/10/17 20:00
  • 21/10/17 20:00

Dance On Ensemble

WILLIAM FORSYTHE Catalogue (First Edition) / JAN MARTENS Man Made

In his latest choreographies, William Forsythe pushes Adolphe Appia’s ideas on presentation and stage design to their very limits. The soundscapes and the dancers picked out with light create a space without a single extraneous object to divert the audience’s at­tention from the key elements. Jan Martens’ works, too, concentrate on the central theme of the production. the dancers and their movement are shaped with light and borne on the music. Neither choreographer ever turns the stage into a peep show; the audience members are never reduced to voyeurs.

Catalogue (First Edition)
A choreography by William Forsythe

It is "an intricate, almost baroque piece", says choreographer William Forsythe of Catalogue (First Edition). The rich fund of “body knowledge” contributed by Jill Johnson and Christopher Roman, two former Forsythe dancers, and the erstwhile ballet soloist Brit Rodemund are part of the fabric of this new piece. Forsythe is still on a search for new shapes and patterns of movement. He is looking back as a way of reinventing himself.

Man Made
A choreography by Jan Martens

2017 – These are uncertain times. When populists take the power, when opinions and "fake news" take up too much (online) space and the only debates taking place are ultra-polarized, there is no place for precision and care, for reflection and empathy. In Man Made, Jan Martens constructs a new choreographic and social system from the knowledge, experience and sensitivity of five dancers. And the result? Is it an illusion? A utopian dream? We don’t know. All we know is that that Man Made's physical, dynamic system contains a vital dose of naivety. A glimmer of light in dark times.

Catalogue:
Coproduction: Theater im Pfalzbau, tanzhaus nrw. With the support of BASF SE. In collaboration with the University of Southern California, Glorya Kaufman School of Dance, Los Angeles. Co-financed by the European Union's Creative Europe Program within the framework of DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON.


Man Made:
A coproduction of Kampnagel Hamburg. Co-financed by the European Union's Creative Europe Program as part of DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON


DANCE ON focuses on the artistic excellence of dancers and dancers over 40, who are present with their dance life on stage with their experiences, their charisma and their portrayal. The DANCE ON ENSEMBLE thus changes the familiar picture of dance. DANCE ON is an initiative of DIEHL + RITTER gUG.


The Dance On Ensemble embodies and shows what the dance art wins by experienced dancers

Where on the stage alone young bodies are associated with beauty and virtuosity, DANCE ON develops a direction-oriented perspective for the development and presentation of the artistic potential of mature dancers. They have an additional radiance, sovereignty and impressive display power, which comes from lived experience. In addition to a sound knowledge of numerous dance techniques and choreographic manuscripts, they have an in-depth knowledge of the effect of their own body.

Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden

Festspielhaus Hellerau

zurück

Rekonstruktion der Zukunft

Termine 15/8€

Ort

  • Großer Saal

Dance On Ensemble

WILLIAM FORSYTHE Catalogue (First Edition) / JAN MARTENS Man Made

William Forsythe hat in seinen letzten Choreografien Adolphe Appias Gedanken zur Inszenierung und zur Bühnengestaltung bis an ihre Grenzen getrieben. Die Soundscapes und die mit Licht betonten Körper gestalten einen Raum, in dem kein überflüssiges Objekt die Aufmerksamkeit des Zuschauers vom Wesentlichen ablenkt. Auch Jan Martens konzentriert sich in seinen Choreografien stark auf die vom Licht gestalteten Körper und die von der Musik getragenen. Bei beiden Choreografen wird die Bühne nie in eine Guckkastenbühne verwandelt, der Zuschauer wird nie zum Voyeur degradiert.

Catalogue (First Edition)
Eine Choreografie von William Forsythe

Es ist „ein aufwändiges, fast barockes Stück“, sagt Choreograf William Forsythe über Catalogue (First Edition). Das reiche „Körperwissen“, das Jill Johnson und Christopher Roman, zwei ehemalige Forsythe-Tänzer, und frühere Ballettsolistin Brit Rodemund mitbringen, gehört zu dem Stoff, aus dem die neue Arbeit entstanden ist. Forsythe bleibt auf der Suche nach neuen Bewegungsfiguren und -mustern. Er schaut zurück, um sich wieder zu erfinden.

WILLIAM FORSYTHE Catalogue (First Edition)

Man Made
Eine Choreografie von Jan Martens

2017 Es sind unsichere Zeiten. Wenn Populisten die Macht ergreifen, wenn Meinungen und „fake news“ zu viel (Internet-)Raum in Anspruch nehmen und Debatten nur noch ultra-polarisiert verlaufen, dann bleibt kein Platz für Genauigkeit und Sorgfalt, für Nachdenken und Empathie. In Man Made konstruiert Jan Martens aus dem Wissen, der Erfahrung und Empfindsamkeit von fünf Tänzern ein neues choreografisches und soziales System. Und das Ergebnis? Ist es eine Illusion? Eine Utopie? Wir wissen es nicht. Wir wissen nur, dass das körperlich-dynamische System von Man Made eine lebensnotwendige Dosis Naivität enthält. Ein Lichtblick in dunklen Zeiten.

JAN MARTENS Man Made

Catalogue ist eine Koproduktion mit dem Theater im Pfalzbau, tanzhaus nrw Mit Unterstützung der BASF SE In Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Southern California, Glorya Kaufman School of Dance, Los Angeles

Choreografie: William Forsythe in künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit Jill Johnson, Brit Rodemund und Christopher Roman / Licht: Benjamin Schälike / Sound: Stephan Wöhrmann / Mit: Brit Rodemund, Christopher Roman


Man Made ist eine Koproduktion von Kampnagel Hamburg.

Konzept/Choreografie: Jan Martens in künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit den Tänzern / Outside Eye: Renee Copraij / Licht: Dominique Pollet / Komposition und Live-Electronics: Mattef Kuhlmey / Kostüme: Sophia Piepenbrock-Saitz Mit: Ty Boomershine, Amancio Gonzalez, Brit Rodemund, Christopher Roman, Jone San Martin


DANCE ON ist eine Initiative von DIEHL+RITTER gUG, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, kofinanziert durch das Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union im Rahmen von DANCE ON, PASS ON, DREAM ON.


Das Dance On Ensemble verkörpert und zeigt, was die Tanzkunst durch erfahrene Tänzer gewinnt.

Wo auf den Bühnen allein junge Körper mit Schönheit und Virtuosität assoziiert werden, entwickelt DANCE ON eine richtungsweisende Perspektive für die Entfaltung und Präsentation des künstlerischen Potenzials reifer Tänzer. Sie besitzen ein Mehr an Ausstrahlung, Souveränität und eindrücklicher Darstellungskraft, das aus gelebter Erfahrung erwächst. Über eine fundierte Kenntnis zahlreicher Tanztechniken und choreografischer Handschriften hinaus verfügen sie über ein vertieftes Wissen um die Wirkung des eigenen Körpers in Bewegung.

Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden